Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

George Somero

David and Lucile Packard Professor in Marine Science, Emeritus
B.A. 1962 Carleton College - Biology
Ph.D. 1967 Stanford University - Biology
2008-current Associate Director—Hopkins Marine Station
2005-current Senior Fellow—Woods Institute for the Environment, Stanford University
2000-2008 Director—Hopkins Marine Station, Stanford University
1995-current David and Lucile Packard Professor of Marine Science, Stanford University
1991-1995 Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University
1980-1991 Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
1984-1989 John Dove Isaacs Chair in Natural Philosophy, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
1983-1989 Chair, Marine Biology Research Division, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
1976-1980 Associate Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
1970-1976 Assistant Professor, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
1967-1970 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of British Columbia
1963-1966 Member-U.S. Antarctic Research Program
National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship
National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship
Isaac Walton Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship
John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship
Member of U.S. National Academy of Sciences
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Honorary Doctor of Science Degree-Carleton College
Helsinki Medal-University of Helsinki
Member of California Academy of Sciences
American Journal of Physiology, Journal of Comparative Physiology, Journal of Experimental Biology, Comparative Biochemistry and Physiology
National Science Foundation—Panel on Ecological and Evolutionary Physiology (1992-1995)
National Research Council—Ocean Studies Board (1997-1999)
National Research Council—Committee on Evaluation, Design, and Monitoring of Marine
Reserves and Protected Areas (1998-2000)
National Research Council—Frontiers in Polar Biology (2002)
National Research Council—International Polar Year committee (2003)
National Research Council—Committee on Ocean Acidification (chair: 2012)


(831) 655-6238
(831) 655-6238
Mail Code